Verilog vs Datapath

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
HuEl_264296
Level 5
Level 5
First like given 25 sign-ins First solution authored

Hi,

I am studying the datapath on the PSoC Sensei blog at the moment, and I was wondering:

In Verilog, there are functions such as shifting, adding, etc.  These are the same functions

that the datapath provides. What then is the advantage of using the datapath? Is it that the

datapath is not used by the Verilog synthesizer? I.E. A pure Verilog implementation makes

less efficient use of the UDB, because it does not use the datapath?

Hugo

0 Likes
9 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Hugo,

Writing just Verilog code will implement the combination or sequential logic using the PLDs available in UDB.

However, the Datapath available in UDB can be utilized by using the Datapath Tool. This is much more powerful way of using the UDBs as Datapath has an ALU of it's own which can do 8 arithmetic and logical operations. A datapath has FIFO, Accumulator and Data Register. Apart from this, there are also hardware comparators which will compare the value of the Accumulator with Data Regsiters. This works in parallel with the main core (8051 / ARM Cortex M3 of PSoC 3/5), thereby improving the utilization of the available digital resources.

0 Likes
HuEl_264296
Level 5
Level 5

I can use the datapath to add two bytes together using the ALU.

But I can also add two bytes using Verilog, can't I ?

Is there a disadvantage to doing it in Verilog?

Is there an advantage to doing it in the datapath?

Hugo

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

The difference is size.  An implementation of a PMW in verilog would take up most of the available logic.  With a datapath it is only a single block.

The ALU conbined with a state machine makes a small little processor.