USBUART RTS/CTS on PSoC 5LP 050

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello everyone,

I am new to Cypress world so I don't know whether my question below has been asked somewhere yet though I did search this forum before opening this topic.

I am finding a way for a linux host to communicate to a PSoC 5LP 050 development kit via USBUART. When the host sends a RTS (Request To Send) to the development board, it expects a CTS (Clear To Send) signal sent back from the board. From the PSoC board, I am able to know when the line control changes and check whether there is a RTS from the host or not. But I could not find any way to send back to the host a CTS.

Any suggestion, sample, idea, etc. from you guys would be highly appreciated.

Best
Tony

0 Likes
5 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Welcome in the fascinating world of PSoCs!

USBUART does not have got CTS and RTS - signals. Instead it needs a (standard) driver which emulates a serial interface using the data coming from the USB. This driver is availlable for windows and for linux, just give google a chance to find it for you.

Bob

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Bob,

Thanks for your reply.

Actually, I know the driver and I can get it works with the board under the device names as ttyACM0 or ttyACM1. The board can receive data if the control line state RTS is off. If the RTS is on, the board cannot receive any data from the host. I guess when the host sends an RTS to the board, it waits for a CTS from the board before beginning to send data. I can check if line control changes happen in the for (;;) loop in main() via USBUART_IsLineChanged()