Debuging CY8CKIT-049-42xx prototyping kit ?

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi,

How do I debug the CY8CKIT-049-42 prototyping kit?

I have no problems with programing the kit with the bootloader Host.

When I press the debug symbol, the "select Debug device" is empty.

Is it not possible to debug the device?

I have some experience with the psco 4 pioneer kit, and I can easely debug my Psoc 4 pioneer kit without problems. 

Thanks in advance.

0 Likes
22 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

The Pioneer Kit has got a PSoC 5LP as bridge between the PSoC4 and USB to allow debugging. When you want to debug your Prototype Kit you need a miniprog3 or you have to hack your Pioneer Kit and use it for debugging.

Bob

0 Likes
ETRO_SSN583
Level 9
Level 9
250 likes received 100 sign-ins 5 likes given

The programing is done by a USB bridge chip, not a full up

processor like on the Pioneer, so there is no debug capability

on the -049 stand alone.

From the user manual -

3.3 Programming the CY8CKIT-049-4xxx Kit

The CY8CKIT-049-4xxx kits are pre-programmed with firmware containing a bootloader. Therefore,
there are two methods of programming the onboard PSoC 4 device:

1. Perform UART bootload programming of the PSoC 4 device using the USB-Serial device as a
USB-UART bridge.

2. Use a CY8CKIT-002MiniProg3 to program and debug the target device directly.

Regards, Dana

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

The -49-42xx kit does not have an onboard debugger. Programming is done via a bootloader only. 

todebug on this kit you have two options:

a) Use Arduino style debuging, printing values to the serial com. it not real debuger but atleast you will have some feedback.

b) Use an external debuger. The proper debuger is a miniprog3 but a modded Pioneer kit will work just fine.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable