Total Noob Needs Help

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello. I'm a total noob when it comes to programming the PSoC. I am a junior in high school and a member of the schools Robotics Club. I was charged with the task of working with the PSoC. I came up with a really great idea, but I need to learn the basics first. So, can anyone help me?

0 Likes
11 Replies
TeHe_281121
Level 3
Level 3

May I suggest the following:

1. Work through the online training. For PSoC3 look here www.cypress.com/

2. Read the TRM (Technical Reference Manual), as this is where the meat lies. www.cypress.com/

3. Read and work through Application Notes. If someone has done it before, learn from them. www.cypress.com/

4. Newsgroups. Always search the newsgroups like this one, before asking a question, as it was probabally asked and answered before.

5. A few other resources worth mentioning,

PSoC Developer forums www.psocdeveloper.com/forums/index.php
Planet PSoC www.planetpsoc.com/

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

By the way, I forgot to mention that I need to know how to use the pins on the PSoC. If I don't know how to use the pins, then my idea is screwed(forgive the language).

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello Luffy. 

I am a mentor on FRC team 1983.   If the previous post did not get you going you may contact me directly at

therepairshop@hotmail.com  with your specific questions.   I am not a programming expert but have worked quite a bit with the PSOC kit board used by the FRC teams. 

PSOC Creator is easy to learn and just fooling around with it and the sample programs should get you going.  One thing that I woulsd suggest is to not let Creator update itself while you are working with the FRC project.  Doing so will cause communication problems with the driver station.  You will have to reinstall the package again.   Hopefully that will be fixed this year. 

Good Luck

Jim