Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm new to the PSoC system, and to programming for the 8051 core in general. However, I've been working on 8-bit MCUs for a while now. Mostly in ASM, so I'm used to having a lot of access to the MCUs flags and such.

What I want to do is add a small error correction value inside and ISR and have another value adjust when the 8bit error counter overflows.

uint8 ErrAdjust = 8; // Pre-calculated error adjust (changed by software) CY_ISR(Err_Adjust_ISR) {     static uint8 errValue = 0;     errValue += ErrAdjust;      if (__carry_bit__)     {        // Adjust another value        ++ValueToAdjust;     } }

How should I go about this. Keep in mind that I'd like it to be as efficient as possible.

0 Likes
3 Replies
KishoreS_96
Employee
Employee
5 sign-ins 50 replies posted 25 replies posted

Hi,

Please go thorough the Application Note on Interrupts handling in PSoC3 over <a href = "http://www.cypress.com/?rID=38267">here</a>.

You need to add your custom code in the specified section (Between Start and Stop).

Regards,

Kishore.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

It looks and sounds like you are trying to apply asembly programming constructs to the C language.

If you state what it is you are trying to achieve (not just how you are trying to achieve it) then it will help.

In C there is no concept of a carry flag, but there are various ways to detect if an 8bit add has overflowed. However, it's unusual to do that in C, which makes me think there would be a better way to approach whatever it is you are trying to do.

However, to detect if an unsigned 8 bit add has overflowed, you could check to see if the result was smaller than you started with - that would indicate an overflow. Or you could use a signed 8 bit value, and check the sign after the add. But like I said, it's pretty unusual.

Best wishes,

K.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable