Problem with Del Sig ADC reading negative DC.

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm trying to use ADC to read a negative DC values but it doesn't display the correct negative values on the LCD. I brought the Agnd to an external. I'm generating this dc voltage from a function generator. I attached my project files . I'm not very good at C coding so i just found an example project and modified a little bit. Please tell me how i can fix this problem. I'm using POSC 3 on the Cy8Ckit-001 Development board.

Vi

Thanks

0 Likes
7 Replies
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm trying to read signals that can be positive or negative . I want to be able to see exactly what Input , if it's negative then i want to see negative or positive then i want to see positive on the LCD.

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi vl123,

After testing your project, here are the suggestions:

1) Declare the ADCResult as signed instead of unsigned. This is to accomodate negative readings since you are using the ADC in differential mode.

2) SInce you are using ADC in multi-sample mode, the ADC_StartConvert( ) API should be used after ADC_StopConvert( ) in the loop.

3) Once the ADC result is obtained using ADC_IsEndConversion(ADC_WAIT_FOR_RESULT), the ADC_StopConvert() can be used immediately. There is no necessity to check for ADC_WAIT_FOR_RESULT in "if" statement. It always returns a false as ADC_WAIT_FOR_RESULT is defined as 0 in a macro. The ADC_StopConvert() API would never execute.

4) In the project, connect the three negative terminals, Pin_4, Pin_5 and Pin_6 to the analog ground Agnd. This way you can measure the voltage below the analog ground. However be cautious of the fact that the negative voltage should not go below the PSoC digital ground.

0 Likes
lock attach
Attachments are accessible only for community members.
Anonymous