Freeing IOs

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
MiKO_283856
Level 4
Level 4
50 replies posted 25 replies posted 10 replies posted

Hi,

I'm new to PSoC world, trying to improve m'y customer PSoC1 CY8C29466 design.

The current dev is using a  zero cross detection done with a comparator which triggers a GPIO interrupt on every half cycle (Change From Read) of the 292Hz input sinusoidal signal.

Such a routing is consumming one GPIO pin only for the purpose of linking the output of the comparator to tne input of the interrupt pin driver thru the out analog bus of the concerned column.

Would there be another way to generate the interrupt without using the corresponding  pin as analog outputs are rare ressource? 

Regards, 

Michel

0 Likes
7 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Hi Michel,

each of the 4 comparators provide a sole interrupt, have a look into the datasheet of your COMP-module. You have to use an API to enable the interrupt and then you do not need any pin.

Are you familar with the (a bit complex) way to tell your PSoC to execute your interrupt-code?

Bob

0 Likes
MiKO_283856
Level 4
Level 4

Hi Bob,

This is really good news, gonna check this immediately, thanks for the information.

The PSoC familly is very rich in terms of ressouces, so a lot to read before being proficient, this requires time...

I'm familiar with interrupt sequences on other microcontroller brands, have already analysed how the PSoC1 Interrupt Controller works and how to manage the handler(s) so I don't think I'd be stuck on insoluble problems on this side.

But if needed, will ask for.

Best regards,

Michel

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10

So as I see you are not yet experienced in writing interrupt routines for PSoC1, it is (as I said) a bit complicated.