Basic "New User" Question About The PSoC

Tip / Sign in to post questions, reply, level up, and achieve exciting badges. Know more

cross mob
Anonymous
Not applicable

Group,

I'm new to the PSoC device and have a "simple" question.

I'm currently using the PSoC 3 development kit's example program "Voltage Display" where the value of a voltage, controlled by a pot is displayed on the LCD screen.

The C code for the project has a number of control statements relating to taking samples/averaging results/etc. Does that mean that when the code is placed into the PSoC chip, that the 8051 controller is also placed into the device to impliment the C Code ?

If so, it sure is a powerful device .

Marc

0 Likes
10 Replies
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10
First like given 50 questions asked 10 questions asked

Hi Marc,

welcome in the fantastic world of PSoC!

Within the PSoC3 there is not only an 8051 core, but flash, EEProm, sRam, analog modules like ADCs, DACs, Muxes, digital blocks and interfaces as USB, SPI, I2C, UART and I'm sure to have forgotten some.

And that's not all, there is a PSoC5 containig as the core an ARm Cortex 3.

When you want to start developing with PSoC I would suggest to get hands on a "Kit-001" which contains a board with a LC-display, and some other helpful hardware, a miniprog3 (for programming AND DE-BUGGING) and 3 exchangeable processor-modules with a PSoC1, 3 and 5 each.

I like PSoCs!

Bob

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

Bob,

Thanks for the reply. Let me add some more info ; I have a PSoC3 development kit. I have programed the Voltage Display example and it works very well.

So, is the 8051 actually running the C code that I put in the PSoC ? It seems so easy, that just by writing code in the main.c area that a complete microcomputer is developed and installed into the device.

Marc

0 Likes
Bob_Marlowe
Level 10
Level 10